A Day Out in Anstruther

What is there to do in the summer in Scotland? Head off to the seaside, of course!

I’ve been on holiday this week, so naturally I have been itching to get out and explore. Tuesday happened to be one of the hottest days of the year, but unfortunately my other half was working and our little seaside voyage couldn’t take place until the next day. Needless to say, come Wednesday the skies were grey, the wind was up and the temperature was back down to Baltic. Okay, that last part was maybe a bit of an exaggeration, but it certainly didn’t feel very summery when we reached Anstruther.

Anstruther is a little town in Fife, almost directly across the Firth of Forth from our little part of East Lothian. Despite it being so close, I have never ventured there. My partner used to spend his childhood summers there and he wanted to show me some of the places that he used to hang around.

Our first stop was the harbour, which is so pretty.

I grew up in North Berwick and my parents used to take me down to the harbour in the summer, but I never thought much about it. In Anstruther, however, I was totally charmed by the boats and how lovely they looked.

Then there was the main street. It’s relatively short and made up mostly of cafes and fish and chip shops, but I loved how colourful it was. It was like something from a postcard or a painting.

And then there was this beautiful view across the beach. Consider me well and truly captivated.

Our main reason for visiting Anstruther was to try the fish and chips from the famous Anstruther Fish Bar. My boyfriend used to go there a lot as a child, so he was interested to see if it had changed. We arrived smack bang in the middle of the lunch time rush, but we didn’t really have to wait too long before being seated. The menu was bigger than I expected – as well as the standard haddock and chips, they had other types of fish, both breaded and battered, as well as fishcakes and a children’s menu. We opted for the traditional haddock fish supper, which came with bread and butter, a hot drink and sauces of our choice. We also ordered a side of onion rings because we are greedy and it was cold outside.

The Anstruther Fish Bar has won awards and I can see why. Their fish was amazing. It simply melted in the mouth and I could write a poem about their chippy sauce. I think it has spoiled me for regular old fish and chips!

Feeling suitably full, we decided to have a wander around the town. One thing we both noticed was how quiet the streets were away from the high street. There were very few people going about and all the houses looked sleepy – perfect conditions for taking pictures!

Despite the cold, I thoroughly enjoyed our wander about Anstruther. Hailing from a coastal town, I tend to take the seaside for granted, but having been to Anstruther, I can see why tourists flock to these places. I was charmed by the harbour and would love to go back on a sunny day. Until then I will just keep dreaming about that delicious fish and chips from the Fish Bar!

Leave a Reply

